The Seven Domains of a Typical It Infrastructure

In: Computers and Technology

Submitted By ndcrespo
Words 542
Pages 3

1. User Domain defines the people who access an organization’s information system.
2. WORKSTATION DOMAIN is where most users connect to the IT infrastructure. It can be a desktop computer, or any device that connects to your network.
3. Local Area Network (LAN) DOMAIN is a collection of computers connected to one another or to a common connection medium. Network connection mediums can include wires, fiber optic cables, or radio waves.
4. LAN-TO-WAN DOMAIN is where the IT infrastructure links to a wide area network and the Internet.
• Basically, a firewall controls, prevents, and monitors incoming and outgoing network access. It is the job of the firewall to prevent unauthorized network access, both from outside and inside network users. Depending on the type of firewall, data packets sent to and from the network pass through the firewall, and all this data can be checked for whether it is allowed for transfer.
• Two main types of firewalls: network firewalls and host-based firewalls. Network firewalls, such as the software-based Microsoft’s Internet Security and Acceleration (ISA) Server or the hardware-based Nortel Networks Alteon Switched Firewall System, protect the perimeter of a network by watching traffic that enters and leaves. Host-based firewalls, such as Internet Connection Firewall (ICF—included with Windows XP and Windows Server 2003), protect an individual computer regardless of the network it’s connected to.
5. Wide Area Network (WAN) DOMAIN connects remote locations. WAN services can include dedicated Internet access and managed services for customer’s routers and firewalls. Networks, routers, and equipment require continuous monitoring and management to keep WAN service available.
6. REMOTE ACCESS DOMAIN connect remote users to the organization’s IT infrastructure. The scope of this domain…...